Part-Time Graduates Honored at 2015 University College Convocation

View Gallery

University College of Syracuse University honored the part-time undergraduate students of the Class of 2015 at its 67th annual Convocation and Commencement Celebration held May 7 at Hendricks Chapel.

Dean Bea González presided over the ceremony, which featured keynote speaker Dr.Casey Crabill, president of Onondaga Community College. The part-time undergraduates eligible to receive degrees through University College represented nine schools and colleges and 36 majors within the University.

University College named eight students as prestigious Alumni Scholars. Each of these bachelor’s degree candidates earned a minimum GPA of 3.833. Alumni Scholars are: Timothy A. Bryant, Kayla Delia, Michael Cargill, Kenneth Dick, Isabel Firpo, Amanda H. Loitsch, Richard Marshall, and Kevin Whigham.

Amanda H. Loitsch also earned the prestigious Nancy C. Gelling Book Award, given annually to the part-time student who achieves the highest overall grade point average for a first bachelor’s degree.

The College of Visual and Performing Arts awarded Kathleen Pascarella the Sylvia Wyckoff Award for outstanding academic achievement.

The Hortence Cochrane Award was awarded to Frederick Morse, Jr., a part-time Social Work student from the Falk College of Sport and Human Dynamics, who demonstrated academic excellence.

Additionally, UC awarded the Excellence in Online Teaching Award to Stephen Zaima, the associate dean for Global Academic Programs and Initiatives at the College of Visual and Performing Arts.

The Staff Service Award, which recognizes an SU unit that has contributed to UC’s success went to Hendricks Chapel, led by Dean Tiffany Steinwert, and Lafarge North America was awarded the Employer Service Award for his partnership with the TEDCenter.

The ceremony was immediately followed by a reception on the Quad.